ACB’s Inaugural Audio Description Awards Gala, November 18, 2021

Event Program

November 18, 2021 — 7:30 p.m. ET

About the Event

The inaugural AD Awards Gala celebrates and expands audio description in media. This is a core tenet of the Audio Description Project (ADP), a program of ACB. Proceeds from this event support the ADP, which works each day to further audio description across a wide range of visual media. We are deeply grateful for the enormous level of support that made this inaugural event a success. For information on this year’s gala and upcoming events, visit

Special Thanks To Our Sponsors

Silver Star Sponsors

Comcast/NBC Universal
Time Warner Media

Bronze Star Sponsors

American Printing House
Viacom-CBS Streaming

Program Credits

A Doug Roland Films Production
Edited by Cameron Taddeo
Hosted by Thomas Reid of Reid My Mind Radio Podcast

Special Guests in Order of Appearance

Dan Spoone, President, ACB
Will Butler, Gala Chair and VP for Community, Be My Eyes
Joel Snyder, Ph.D., Co-Founder of ADP and President of Audio Description Associates LLC
Kim Charlson, Past President of ACB and ADP Co-Chair
Barry Cronin, Retired, WGBH
Carl Richardson, ADP Co-Chair
Roy Samuelson, Voice Actor
Simran Sethi, EVP for Development and Content Strategy, ABC Entertainment
Satauna Howery, Voice Actor
Charlie Cox, Actor
Heather Dowdy, Senior Program Manager for AI and Accessibility, Netflix
Conchita Hernandez Legorreta, Educator and Advocate
Orissa Castellano Rodriguez, Executive Director, Canal 22
Tony Stephens, Director of Development, ACB
Eric Bridges, Executive Director, ACB
Petr Kucheryavyy, Senior Manager for Accessibility, Spectrum
Amhed Fareed, Commentator, NBC Sports
Lex Gillette, Paralympian
Molly Solomon, EP & President, NBC Olympics Production
Jason Momoa, Actor
Nesta Cooper, Actor
Christian Camargo, Actor
Sarah Herrlinger, Senior Director of Global Accessibility Policy & Initiatives, Apple
Kurt Warner, NFL Hall of Fame Quarterback
Brenda Warner, Spouse
Zachary Levi, Actor
Sumaira Latif, Accessibility Leader, Procter & Gamble
Marc Pritchard, CMO, Procter & Gamble
Blake Stadnik, Actor

Technical Production

AD Narration by Nefertiti Matos Olivares 
Audio description provided by Audio Description Associates, LLC
Sound editing by Chris Snyder
Captioning provided by Vitac

Special thanks to the following organizations who assisted in technical production and securing clips for the event:

130 Agency, ABC Entertainment, the Academy Awards, Apple, Audio Description Associates, Canal 22, Dicapta Foundation, Netflix, NBC-Universal, Peacock, Procter & Gamble, Spectrum and WGBH.

And to the following individuals:

Zachary Levi, Jason Momoa, Blake Stadnik, Kurt and Brenda Warner.

AD Awards Planning Committee

Will Butler, Gala Chair, Be My Eyes
Kim Charlson, ADP Co-Chair
Carl Richardson, ADP Co-Chair
Matt Atter, Vispero
Angela Ball, Comcast
John Cavanaugh, Bridge Multimedia
Maria Victoria Diaz, Ph.D., Dicapta Foundation
Paul Schroeder, American Printing House
Joel Snyder, Ph.D., Audio Description Associates, LLC and ADP Founder/Sr. Consultant
Joe Strechay, Producer

Audio Description Awards Committee

Joel Snyder, Ph.D., Chair, Audio Description Associates, LLC and ADP Founder/Sr. Consultant
Will Butler, Gala Chair, Be My Eyes
Carl Richardson, ADP Co-Chair
Maria Victoria Diaz, Ph.D., Dicapta Foundation
Satauna Howery, Voice Actor
Diane Johnson, Descriptive Video Works Steering Committee
Roy Samuelson, Voice Actor
Wendy Sapp, Bridge Multimedia
Margo Tone, Keywords

Additional thanks to the following for sharing of time, talents and resources:

Audio Description Associates, LLC, Bridge Multimedia, Dicapta Foundation, Vitac, Vispero, and Woman of Her Word.

ACB Support Staff

Jo Lynn Bailey-Page
Fred Brack
Nancy Marks-Becker
Eric Bridges
Nancy Feela
Jennifer Flatt
Kelly Gasque
Cindy Hollis
Erika Keller
Sharon Lovering
Rick Morin
Clark Rachfal
Tony Stephens

For more information go to:

Find out more at

This podcast is powered by Pinecast. Try Pinecast for free, forever, no credit card required. If you decide to upgrade, use coupon code r-af0929 for 40% off for 4 months, and support ACB Events.

%d bloggers like this: